Kim Carrim - Day in the life

Senior Associate, London

Kim works in our Liability team and is based in our London office. Kim has worked at Kennedys since 2009 and handles personal injury matters, specialising in employers’, public and product liability claims.

Im_Carrim Square
I like to plan my week before I leave on a Friday and identify the highest priority tasks.


I start early on a Monday, and on the train, check any e-mails received over the weekend, read up on the latest insurance industry news and have a quick snooze before reaching London. 


The first stop is the kitchen for a coffee, where I meet one of the Senior Associates I work closely with. We provide support to each other in supervising employees in our team, and decide it is an opportune time to catch up.


I am at my desk by 09:20 and reviewing an internal report on upcoming deadlines for a specific client. I draft emails to the Kennedys lawyers dealing with those cases, requesting an update on the progress of the claims to ensure everything is running smoothly and on track.


I like to plan my week before I leave on a Friday and identify the highest priority tasks to carry out. I therefore find my list of cases and case related tasks to work on from Friday and make a start.


Once everyone’s in the office I have a catch up with the other lawyers in my sub-team on their workload and capacity for taking on new cases and update the team Partner.


I check the post for my sub-team, which includes a new set of instructions from a client. I review the client’s instructions and the court proceedings and allocate the case to a lawyer.


I prepared lunch before I left the house this morning and head down to the breakout area called 'The Writz'. I catch up with a couple of colleagues from another team that I haven’t to spoken to for a while.


One of the team has some work that needs checking to go out the same day, so I allocate some time to reviewing their work. I also review a Court of Appeal judgment for an article I am preparing for a Kennedys publication.


I collect my son from after-school club and I am home by 18:00 and making dinner.